Married at 23? Single at 23? It Doesn’t Matter!

I’ve been watching people on Facebook go back and forth on this whole argument of whether or not it’s a good idea to get married at a young age. And it’s dumb. I’m sorry, I thought this was America. And the 21st century. We’re not dying off by 30. You don’t have to get married at 12. And if you really wanted to, you don’t have to get married ever. I can’t comprehend why people are getting into heated debates about something so seemingly mundane in comparison to real problems that our society is facing.

Let’s just settle this right now. Those who are getting married at a young age, congratulations! You found the person that you can tolerate until you die. Or something. The divorce rate is kind of high, but whatever. You’re saying, “I, do,” and in my book, it means that person currently is someone that you would die for, because you love them. Hold on to them. You’re very fortunate, and I’m slightly jealous that you get to spend that much more time with that special someone. Wedding_rings

Now, to those of you who, like me, haven’t gotten married yet, congratulations! You are still trying to find yourself before you can find your counterpart. Maybe you realize that you’re not ready to make that commitment, or are not financially stable enough to support a family. Maybe you haven’t found the right person. Whatever! You’re also fortunate that you get more time to fully develop into a functioning adult before bringing someone else into your world. Screen-shot-2012-07-06-at-2.41.50-PM

I’m not saying that I’m for one way of life or the other. I’m saying that there are pros and cons to both sides. And I’m just saying, that there’s no reason to invalidate one’s feelings or life choices. If you aren’t going to judge someone based on their race, religion, sexual orientation, or whatnot, why would you judge someone based on when they decide to get married? Can’t we all just get along?

So after all of these bucket lists of stuff to do before tying the knot, or stuff to do with your significant other, how about this? Why not just do whatever the fuck you want to do? Laissez faire. Let people live. You do you, and I’ll do me.

One thought on “Married at 23? Single at 23? It Doesn’t Matter!

Speak Your Mind...

