…But why writing?

snoopyAs graduation creeps up on me, everyone always asks the same question, “So what are you doing after graduation?” Or something along those lines. I always have the same answer. “Hopefully get a job.” But it’s more than just a paycheck I want. I want to write. I really do. This blog by Andrew Toy essentially says that being a writer is about as practical as being a Classics major. And he says that he hates writing, but it’s the only thing he’s good at. Writing may be my only talent, but I love it. I’m extremely passionate about it. I remember being in third grade, and my teacher told me that I wrote too much. She said that I would spend so much time elaborating, and that I needed to just get to the point.

Here’s the point. If I could get a decent salary from writing, I would be eternally happy. Of course I wouldn’t want to just write whatever someone else tells me to. Nooo. I want to write whatever comes to me. Maybe I’m a wishful thinker. Maybe I’m overly ambitious. But it’s who I am. I want to publish a book one day. I have yet to decide the genre or anything specific, but it will happen one day. I thought about writing a children’s book. A couple of coworkers and I were discussing it. I told them that if I ever did write the book, that I would dedicate it to them. I thought about writing a young adult novel. Then I thought, “Do I really want a bunch of tweens and moms raving over my work?” I don’t have anything against those types of books. I read plenty of them in high school. I’m not trying to put them down. I don’t want to sound conceited.

I just feel that my skill could be useful elsewhere. Currently I’m really interested in being a copywriter. There would be somewhat of a restraint on my writing, but nothing too withholding. And I could get paid to write! What a deal! I’m just bummed I never thought about it sooner. I could have gotten an internship with an advertising company to gain some sort of experience. But maybe my words can inspire someone to take a chance on me. I’m certainly willing to learn.

Recently I was asked what is it about writing that I love so much. The thing about that question is, I don’t really have an answer. At A&M we have a saying that goes, “From the outside looking in, you can’t understand it. From the inside looking out, you can’t explain it.” I feel like I can apply that to my love of writing. As strange as it sounds, I have no words. I don’t know how to put the feelings I get when I’m writing into words. I guess I feel at peace. I feel like nothing in this world can bring me down. I get this sense of satisfaction. When I’m writing, there is no other feeling that I can compare it to. There is nothing else that I can do that gives me the same feeling.

Maybe my passion for writing is a blessing and a curse. All of you wonderful people get to read my words. I may never be rich from writing. I’ll probably never be famous from writing. I think I’m okay with that. They (whoever they are) say that if you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life. I love writing, obviously. So what will I do after graduation? Not work, I know that much.

calvin and hobbes

 

5 thoughts on “…But why writing?

  1. Hey, knowing what you’re passionate about it as least half the battle! It’s better than the inevitable “What are you doing after graduation”, “….I have no idea” type situation. I think you’ll make a great writer, your posts are quite thought provoking

  2. It’s extremely hard to find a “career” that you genuinely love and that is amazing you found it and could get paid decent for. Follow your dreams and you’ll be golden!

Speak Your Mind...

