Let it Go

let it goAdmittedly, I’ve been struggling with my faith recently. I’ve always been a devout Lutheran, with a few doubts here and there, but I never wandered too far away. Now when you’re perpetually surrounded by people who have no faith, scholars who have studied many ways to debunk the very idea of God, it becomes difficult to hold on to that faith. So I’m questioning myself, and everything that I believe in. And I’m thinking, “All of this can’t be completely futile. It can’t. The praying, the Bible reading, the Divine Service! There has to be meaning to this.” Ironically enough, I’ve come across a few things that have restored my faith in God. I feel more certain that He is up there. So I decide that I should pay a visit to His Word. As I’m skimming through, I come across a passage that is more relevant to life than How I Met Your Mother.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8. For those of you unfamiliar with the Bible, here.

1There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: 2a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, 3a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, 4a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, 5a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, 6a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, 7a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, 8a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.

There’s a time for everything, and a reason for everything. Yeah, you’re gonna question it. That’s inevitable. You might not always understand what’s going on, but does anyone? Aren’t we constantly questioning the deeper meaning behind what happens to us, the good and the bad? Maybe not everyone, but I certainly am. So I pose this idea. From the Disney movie, Frozen, just let it go! Yes, it’s going to be hard. I know I’m going to have a hard time with this concept. But it has to be better than the alternative. It has to be better than being in turmoil with yourself. It must be better than worrying over everything. It can’t be as bad as the stress caused from the attempt to analyze what goes on in life. Just let it go. Have faith in yourself. You can get through it.

2 thoughts on “Let it Go

  1. You are blessed. The greatest saints tell us that God tries those He loves most dearly in order to deepen their faith in Him, preparing them for everlasting life with Him. God bless!

Speak Your Mind...

