Once again, I’ve let life get the best of me. I haven’t written in a while. But this time I have a better excuse! I have been L-I-V-I-N!! I love my job. I love the city. And I love my life. Outside of work I have recently decided to volunteer at the Humane Society. There are so many wonderful dogs and cats. At orientation I could not possibly meet them all. But they’re great, and they all deserve a loving home. But enough about that…Time for the point of this post.

There’s this new-ish fitness craze. It’s kind of a big deal. But you probably haven’t heard of it. November Project, it’s spreading across the United States, and the world! With 20-something tribes and growing, free fitness is becoming the norm. Why pay for something that you can get for free? No membership fee. No dues. Did I mention you get to meet and earn tons of new friends? How awesome is that? There are people of all ages, all fitness levels, all races…it’s diverse, okay!

But now you’re thinking, I don’t see one for Texas, why do you care about this? I care because my tribe is a pledge. They actually have been, for quite some time now, since before I was even in Dallas I think. Now, I don’t know the protocol, policy, rules, or whatever to become official, but I do know one thing. Actually, I know a lot of things.

wrbd2

photo by: Manny Gonzales

-I know that my tribe is freaking amazing. The whole “accountability” aspect, we got that down. Social media shaming isn’t just for dogs and babies. When you #verbal and don’t show up, expect all of the memes at your expense.

-I know that we have some awesome leaders! They’re more motivational than Joel Osteen on Easter Sunday. When you think you can’t, they’re telling you can. When you’re ready to give up, they’re there to push you forward. If you would have asked me six months ago if I like running, I would have laughed in your face. These people have opened up a new part of me.

-I know that this amazing group has inspired me. If you would have asked me six months ago if I would workout in the morning, I would have snored in your face. Now I’m actually jumping out of bed at 5:45 AM. Three times a week! What! Literally jumping sometimes, because I get to see my tribe, and I get to workout with them.

-I know that we’re starting to get some publicity. We’ve had a news anchor, and a newspaper reporter come observe us. That’s pretty neat, right?

-I know that these people are my family away from home. When I first moved up here, I was hella nervous. I had never been this far away from Houston for this long. In school I was less than an hour away (with no cops on the road). And here I was, embarking on a new journey, four hours away. Less than a handful of friends within 30 miles. And yet, I found a group of people who make me feel like I’m home again.

wrbd

photo by: Meg Ramirez

-I know that I’m genuinely happy. Back in college I went to the student counseling services. I have Seasonal Affective Disorder. That was back in College Station, where it doesn’t get that cold. Every winter, sure enough, it happened. I didn’t want to be social. I didn’t want to exercise. I didn’t feel like doing anything. They were dark times, because in the other months I was a completely different person. But this past winter, I’ve been myself. Even at freezing temperatures. The tribe helped me release a plethora of endorphins! Talk about a transformation. Going from a mindset of I-don’t-even-want-to-get-out-bed-or-shower-or-breathe-because-it’s-too-much-effort-and-it-doesn’t-matter-anyway-and-why-am-I-still-here, to, Holy-shit-I’m-so-pumped-let’s-get-weird-let’s-go-DO-EVERYTHING-I’m-ready-for-whatever-is-thrown-at-me! And I have We Run Big D to thank for that.

Maybe we don’t have enough people. Perhaps the leaders just feel we haven’t fully encompassed the essence of The November Project. I don’t really know what they want. But it’s okay. I’m patient. We’ll wait. But we won’t stop working out. And we won’t stop advertising. Because at this point, I feel like it’s not even about having that association. That logo. That buff.

We took the idea and we made it our own. We are known for doing things differently in Texas anyway. Why should this be the exception?

If you’re ever in the Dallas area, feel free to join us! Wednesdays at the Winspear Opera House. Fridays at the Perot Museum. Mondays rotate, but it will always be on our page. Always at 6:14 AM. Seriously. We’re weather proof. Just show up. Be sure to follow us on Instagram @werunbigd and like our Facebook page.

Also, I just want to add one more thing. I’m super stoked that this coming week I will be leading the workouts! What an honor! I have always enjoyed helping and motivating people when it comes to working out. And for a minute I wanted to be a coach. I might just be excited because this is something I can put on my law school app? Nah. I’m just ECSTATIC that I get to lead my peeps!

Speak Your Mind...

