Running for a Reason

Joining We Run Big D has led to nothing but positives. God has put some truly wonderful people in my life, which has led to even better things. What type of things? For one, a fellow tribe member encouraged me to run a marathon. And then, another member suggested I run with MDA Team Momentum. So here I am, beginning to train my body and my mind.

There have been many times in which I’ve taken for granted my ability to run, or walk even. Don’t we all? It’s something that we do everyday (walking, not necessarily running) and yet we don’t think about others who don’t have that luxury.

A little over a week ago I went for a run and rolled my ankle. It hurt. A lot. I walked back to my apartment, no, limped back to my apartment in tears. Then I started to think, “Yeah, this hurts, but it will get better!” For some, they can’t get better. Muscular dystrophy  doesn’t have a cure. And so the muscles just deteriorate. Something as simple as taking the dog for a walk becomes a struggle. Of course there is therapy and ways to cope, but it’s a lifelong sentence.

So each mile I run will be for someone who struggles. Each dollar I raise goes to research. We throw away money on Starbucks and phone games and alcohol and whatever else. Why not use some of it to help other people? Yes, there are so many non-profits, and lots of causes and people who need help. But there are also a lot of people who still choose not to do anything, coming up with excuses to not donate their time or money. “I’m so busy!” “I have loans and bills to pay!” “I just can’t, I’m sorry!” I know these excuses because I have used them. Now I am doing something about it.

A phrase we use in our tribe #noexcuses

If you can donate anything, it would be appreciated. If you really can’t donate anything…First of all, remember the story of the widow? She was in poverty, and gave everything she had… I’m not asking you to donate more than you can bear, every cent counts. Secondly, you don’t have to give money. You can give your time. You can volunteer for different events, working around YOUR schedule. Time management is a learned skill. I’m managing my time in order to train, I’m sure you could find a few hours in a weekend.

So again, I politely ask, for your time and/or a monetary donation to help those with MD. You can visit my personal fundraising page here. Or you can look for ways to volunteer here.

Let’s make muscle health stronger than muscle disease! Together, we are progress. Together, we can make a difference.

 

Speak Your Mind...

