First I must say, if anyone tells you that he or she doesn’t have bad or tough runs, you better have an extinguisher with you, because their pants are undoubtedly on fire, because they’re liars.

You can’t have good runs without bad runs. And everyone has good runs. So in turn, everyone has bad runs. Everyone who runs has bad runs. Everyone who can run has bad runs. And that right there is what this is about. I can run. I have great runs. I have PRs. I never cease to amaze myself at what I can do. The Lord has blessed me and I am thankful every day. Well, I try to be.

Some days I’m super excited to run. Other days, not so much. But I love food so much that I know I must run, or do some sort of physical activity. So I complain most of the way, but I do it. For the food. #FTF

And today was one of those days. I didn’t really want to run. Mr. Kitty was being super playful and I was enjoying my time with him. I knew that I needed to run, and I begrudgingly got dressed in between belly rubs, which turned into biting because he doesn’t like when I don’t give him my undivided attention.

I walked out the door and out to the trail. I made it through my warm-up walk no problem. Then the running happened. I felt incredibly slow. I wanted to stop after a quarter of a mile. Because who doesn’t live their life a quarter of a mile at a time?

My brain was trying to block me from my task at hand. I pushed through it. Some people can’t. Maybe you’re one of those people. Maybe you’re wondering how anyone can run when they don’t want to, and how I didn’t just quit and go home because it wasn’t even a race and it was just on my own time? Here’s a little secret.

It’s not about me for once. Shocker. What I didn’t mention earlier was that I put on my MDA shirt to go run. It always helps me. It’s a reminder that even though I have bad runs, I still have runs. I have the ability to have bad and good runs, and in-between runs.

There are people who struggle to run. People who struggle to walk. People who struggle to comb their hair or brush their teeth. I don’t. And so all of my runs, even the bad ones, they’re for the folks who don’t have the opportunity.

Speak Your Mind...

